It is currently Sun 09 Dec, 2018 - 8:12 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

Shall we host a Tekkit server instead of or alongside default?
Poll ended at Wed 22 Aug, 2012 - 12:02 pm
I vote for Tekkit 18%  18%  [ 2 ]
I vote for Default 18%  18%  [ 2 ]
I will use both equally 64%  64%  [ 7 ]
Total votes : 11
Author Message
 Post subject: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug, 2012 - 12:31 am 
Agent
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Feb, 2012 - 6:55 pm
Posts: 37
I was just wondering if there was any possibility of a hawknet tekkit server, I recently got technic launcher and I really like it. The only problem is, will it cost? as I don't want Zion and folk paying too much money. XD

thanks

jables225


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug, 2012 - 12:50 am 
Agent
User avatar

Joined: Sun 10 Apr, 2011 - 1:13 am
Posts: 1743
Location: Maidenhead, UK
I wanted a Tekkit server for ages. Mostly because for me, quarries are the best method of mining, and doing it manually, is a lot of effort.


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug, 2012 - 1:27 am 
Agent
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Feb, 2012 - 6:55 pm
Posts: 37
i agree, but i prefer miners to quarries XD


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug, 2012 - 5:03 am 
Agent

Joined: Thu 17 Feb, 2011 - 1:31 am
Posts: 2302
Location: Colorado
it would require everyone to install the mod. As not everyone has administrative control over their computers they might not be able to download and install 7zip or winRar to install the mod, thus limiting the amount of users to those who can, and even then to those who could successfully install the mod.

_________________

Image


Image



Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug, 2012 - 2:31 pm 
Agent
User avatar

Joined: Sun 10 Apr, 2011 - 1:13 am
Posts: 1743
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Not everyone from Hawknet would have to be on this server. It's very unlikely that people are not able to install the mod.


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug, 2012 - 4:20 pm 
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2010 - 9:06 am
Posts: 1767
Location: Surrey, England
It depends on how many actually want to play on a tekkit server, and weather they'll still visit the main server. Dedicating resources to a server that will become overused or underused is not really logical. D:


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug, 2012 - 11:34 am 
Agent
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Feb, 2012 - 6:55 pm
Posts: 37
Mmmm, i see your logic zion :)


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug, 2012 - 2:28 am 
Super Operator
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Feb, 2012 - 2:10 pm
Posts: 310
Location: wiltshire, uk
Personally i think this is a great idea, but also agree with Zion in that we do need to see how many people are interested in this first ^^


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug, 2012 - 8:03 am 
Architect
User avatar

Joined: Thu 01 Dec, 2011 - 3:31 am
Posts: 153
Location: USA
I give it two tusks up :=

_________________
Image


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug, 2012 - 12:01 pm 
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2010 - 9:06 am
Posts: 1767
Location: Surrey, England
Sounds painful, Upside-down walrus.

Opened a 14 day vote, please cast it. :3


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Sat 11 Aug, 2012 - 4:22 am 
Super Operator
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Feb, 2012 - 2:10 pm
Posts: 310
Location: wiltshire, uk
Belgeran wrote:
it would require everyone to install the mod. As not everyone has administrative control over their computers they might not be able to download and install 7zip or winRar to install the mod, thus limiting the amount of users to those who can, and even then to those who could successfully install the mod.


Not true Belg. You can download the Mod without 7zip or WinRaw by going to http://www.technicpack.net/tekkit and installing it from there. From there on it acts Like normal Minecraft.


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Sat 11 Aug, 2012 - 4:36 am 
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2010 - 9:06 am
Posts: 1767
Location: Surrey, England
Well, the vote has another 11 days to run. Try to get as many people in the community who play SMP to cast their vote, and if it passes, we'll do a test run.

Tekkit for both the client, and server, will need to be updated for 1.3.1, as well as the required plugins of Essentials, LogBlock, and LWC or Lockette. These plugins must also be fully compatible with the modification (IE: LogBlock must be able to identify and record changes to custom blocks, LWC/Lockette must be able to secure custom storage containers/switches, Essentials must be able to /give custom blocks (easy enough to do manually given a list of names and ID's)). If you could research into this, it would be highly advantageous. ^^


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Mon 13 Aug, 2012 - 5:24 am 
Architect
User avatar

Joined: Thu 01 Dec, 2011 - 3:31 am
Posts: 153
Location: USA
Ok here my little help on this cause....

LWC - Compatible
- Supports is at 4.0.9 but blocks have to be added to the core.yml.

LogBlock - Compatible
- Shows in the Log as X [item.id]. Witch may or may not be an issue.

Essentials - N/A
-Sadly I did not go 3 for 3 and could not find any information on this.

_________________
Image


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Mon 13 Aug, 2012 - 5:46 pm 
Agent

Joined: Thu 17 Feb, 2011 - 1:31 am
Posts: 2302
Location: Colorado
also need PEX

_________________

Image


Image



Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Mon 13 Aug, 2012 - 8:29 pm 
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2010 - 9:06 am
Posts: 1767
Location: Surrey, England
PEX is compatible with any serverside mods, since it only gives or denies permission to commands.


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Sat 01 Sep, 2012 - 8:20 pm 
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon 18 Jul, 2011 - 12:47 pm
Posts: 863
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
So do we have a verdict on this?

_________________
Image


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Sun 02 Sep, 2012 - 5:42 pm 
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2010 - 9:06 am
Posts: 1767
Location: Surrey, England
I will look into the available resources for Tekkit. Do bare in mind that we'd be waiting a lot longer than normal after each update if it gains popularity.


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: tekkit server?
PostPosted: Sun 02 Sep, 2012 - 6:17 pm 
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon 18 Jul, 2011 - 12:47 pm
Posts: 863
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Indeed. Well all we can really ask you to do is look into it.

_________________
Image


Top
  Offline Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
© 2014 - Hawknet Computing Ltd - Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group